Lagos Assembly reshuffles House committee chairmen

The Lagos State House of Assembly on Friday reshuffled its Standing Committee Chairmen following current developments within the House.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reviews that the reshufflement was contained in an inside memo issued to lawmakers by Clerk of the House, Mr Azeez Sanni.

NAN reviews that the committee chairmen had been reshuffled 11 days after 4 lawmakers had been suspended indefinitely via voice votes for alleged gross insubordination.

Sanni defined that the reshufflement was to allow the lawmakers serve the individuals of the state effectively of their respective legislative duties.

“Following the approval of the House, be informed that the following House Committees have been reconstituted with effect from Friday,” he stated.

Sanni defined that the previous Deputy Majority Leader, Mr Olumuyiwa Jimoh, has been assigned because the Chairman of the Committee on Central Business District (CBD).

The clerk stated Mr Rotimi Abiru, who was sacked as Chief Whip, is the Chairman, Inter-Parliamentary Committee.

He famous that the suspended Moshood Oshun, who was faraway from Chairman, Public Accounts Committee (State), now Chairman, Committee on Legislative Compliance.

Sanni named Mr Nurudeen Saka-Solaja because the Chairman, Public Accounts Committee (State).

He stated: “Mr Olatunji Oluwa is now the Chairman, House Committee on Tourism, Art and Culture, whereas Mr Rauf-Age Suleiman is now the Chairman, House Committee on Procurement.

“The suspended Kazeem Raheem is now the Chairman of Establishments, Training and Pensions, from his earlier place of Special Duties and Inter-Governmental Relations.

“Raheem is swapping office with Mr Rasheed Makinde while Mrs Mojisola Alli-Macaulay will replace Mrs Mojisola Miranda as Chairman of Women Affairs and Poverty Alleviation Committee.”

The clerk stated Miranda, who had been named one of many principal officers, is the present Chief Whip of the House.

NAN reviews that the 2 lawmakers suspended had been Mr Moshood Oshun (Mainland Constituency II) and Mr Raheem Adewale (Ibeju Lekki Constituency II).

The two principal officers, additionally faraway from workplace similar day, had been Mr Rotimi Abiru, former Chief Whip and Mr Olumuyiwa Jimoh, former Deputy Majority Leader.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *